Released January 27th 2008


1. L’ inexistence.
2. Arabesque.
3. Aguas Marinhas.
4. Un Songe.
5. La Javanaise.

1. Solar.
2. Dissidence.
3. L’ inexistence.
4. Inner Urge.
5. Aguas Marinhas.

Cyril Achard - Guitars acoustic and Electric.
Fred Pasqua - Drums
Lilian Bencini - Bass

Cyril Achard
In Constancia Contans..

Cyril Achard



The critically acclaimed French jazz trio led by guitarist Cyril Achard see the release of their new CD/DVD double pack “Trace” on January 27th 2008 through Lion Music. The CD side of the pack sees the trio in acoustic guise whilst the DVD has some electric moments.

On the release Cyril Achard comments, “My goal was to make a live recording with less takes as possible, we recorded the audio CD just by playing each song two times maximum and no overdubs were done. I wanted something very fresh and natural. I also wanted to have a “Trace” of this band I’ve been playing with for long time. It’s more about interaction between musicians than my previous works, there is more freedom, the themes are shorter maybe easier for the audience and it’s a very accessible listen”. On how the trio works together Cyril states, “I write the melody, the chords, and think about the basic arrangements, they bring their personality, their great playing, it affects the aesthetic of the songs”.

CD side :
L’ inexistence: Modern Jazz Acoustic tune, very minor and dark melody.

Arabesque: Modern Jazz acoustic song, with an Arabian-Spanish mood.

Aguas Marinhas: A bossa written by a non-Brazilian guy ! The drum is played with the hands, it gives a percussion sound to it, the melody is nice and easy. The solo parts are written on modal chords changes.

Un Songe: Is the kind of acoustic ballad you like to hear with the eyes closed. Lot of sections, different themes, and long improvisations too.

La Javanaise: Personal arrangement and big re-harmonisation of the chord over the original melody, I love Serge Gainsbourgh and all his work.

DVD side :
You find live version of Aguas MArinhas and l’Inexistence. Plus two personal arrangements on Miles Davis “Solar” and Joe Henderson “Inner urge”, both electric. Then a personal fusion composition, “Dissidence” played electric too.

• Cyril Achard is one of France’s most respected guitarists.
• Trace is released as a cd/dvd double pack.
• Cyril is available for interview, to arrange please contact Cyril direct via